top of page
  • Writer's pictureJanet Elizabeth

This Is Not A Leap Year

First off, new blogging schedule. I will blog once a month on a topic that interests me within the realm of screenwriter, film making, entertainment, etc. With all the other writing I'm doing, that's about all I can manage. That said, lets get to today's topic.


So, with February almost at an end, and it ends on the 28th, that means this is NOT a leap year. How does that relate to today's topic? All will become clear.


Today's topic is inclusivity in the film industry, from an outsider's perspective.


Firstly, I equate the ability of newbies and/or outsiders like myself getting the opportunity to get their foot in the door to the cycle of February 29th, the leap year day. It only comes a long once in a while and very few careers are born, as very few humans are born on the 29th. Having a leap year birthday seems pretty special to me. And finding an opportunity to get my scripts in front of eyes that can make a difference to my career is about as rare.


Why is that?


Do I suck as a writer? Am I super unlucky? Am I doing something wrong?


I don't know, none of those options feels like it's true.


It all comes down to talent + luck = opportunity.


Or does it?


That's where we discuss inclusivity.


Firstly, let me check my privilege. I'm white, so check, qualify. I'm heterosexual, so check, qualify. And that seems to be it.


Here's what excludes me, in mainstream circles. Female. Disabled. Over 30. Economically challenged (that means I'm poor). Live in a country that does not support film the same as other countries support their film industry (by way of geography and some dirty dealings back during the birth of the film industry, Canada was lumped in with the U.S.A. with regards to box office, profits etc, though we don't see that money in our industry, it all goes to government/private interests and none is invested in a self sustaining industry as other countries such as the US, England, Australia, German, Japan, France, etc...you get my point).


All of those things exclude me from getting to opportunities. Doesn't mean I can't get there, it just means while others who don't have these disadvantages (I don't see them as disadvantages, but others do...get it?) are able to navigate and make their way "in" with relative ease. Whilst others, like myself, are like Sisyphus pushing that damn rock up the hill ever damn day, only to have it roll back down as soon as we get to the top.


I will not speak for anyone but myself, though if others see themselves in my words, you are welcome to the designation of Leap Year Talent.


So, back to the questions of before. Do I lack talent? Nope. Do I lack luck? Clearly. Am I doing something wrong? Perhaps.


Should this exclude me? Nope.


So how does this change? How do we change this for myself and any other Leap Year Talents? We need champions, those who don't shut the gates on us after they get in. We need opportunity to shine and grow as artists. A first time writer or director deserves as much a chance as anyone else. Don't throw us away or don't throw us into the deep end and hope we swim. Mentor us. Look for those glimmers of talent. And yes, I know film is a risky business, speculative at the best of times, but there are ways to minimize that risk; ways to encourage growth.


An industry that doesn't grow, stagnates and eventually dies or is overridden by others who see into the future and included new talent.


So, my Leap Year Talents', keep trying. Keep writing. Take all advice in and sift through it to find what resonates with you. Read screenplays, watch movies, read screenplay books, take courses wherever you can find them. Join writer groups, look for opportunities like the Imagine-Impact program. Spend your time wisely. If you can find a way to make your own film and get it in front of audiences, do it. If you can't, don't beat yourself up. Where there is a will, there is a way.


I will be 54 years old this year. And I still strive.


Never give up. Never surrender!


Happy February!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rewrites Part 2

They say writing is the easy part and rewrites are hell. They, whomever they are, are not wrong. Rewrites ARE hell. When I get an idea, I usually jot down the basics on whatever paper is at hand, wi

bottom of page