top of page
  • Writer's pictureJanet Elizabeth

EXTRA INNINGS: Game In Overtime



Just read an article about what it takes to make a low budget (and I was shocked at what is considered low budget) film.

It's a lot of work.

There's finding the right script, getting people to commit time if you can get the financing, then getting the financing, then getting the right people to run the thing, then juggling schedules, spending time getting filming done, then sound syncing and editing, and title sequences and credits and ... now I'm exhausted.

What I get from all this is, I would rather be a screenwriter. Just a simple little writer, who creates the thing that gets the ball rolling. Let someone else do all that hard work and long hours and stress and oh man, I'm getting stressed just thinking about it.

No wonder movies take so long to get made and there is such a thing as development hell (I imagine that means you didn't hire the right staff), and why they cost so much damn money to make.

Seriously, it sounds like a nightmare compared to writing the script.

I love writing, I love the act of sitting down and creating a world and situation and characters and telling their stories and making it all happen.

I wonder if this is why so many men go bald in the movie industry? They tear out their hair trying to get these things made. And women, man, what it must do to them.

I'm good with being the script writer.

So, Hollywood, I got stories. Call me!

Ciao!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page